What's the Average Price Range For An Editor?

L'Oiseau Noir

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
I'm a sixteen-year-old writer, and one of the things I'm trying to do right now is write a vampire novel. But I'm also very poor, as is my family. How much would it cost, on average, to hire a professional editor to tune up your work?

I'd like to know, because it seems with every resource I've researched on the internet, it all basically says a person needs an editor to look over their work and help them with their proposals.

Thanks for your time. =)

-Sierra

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
The answer you're likely to get here is to first learn to write well yourself. Study, read good books, and most importantly, write.

Good luck with your novel.

Provrb1810meggy

Registered
Reaction score
You do not need a paid editor at all. Many authors are fine editing their own work. There are also people who you can exchange stories with and critique each other's work, and that's absolutely free. This person can be a friend you know, but most people usually get other writers to help. You can find someone to critique your work here on AW. For instance, maddythemad is my beta reader (in essence, a beta reader is a critque partner, but there is some thread elsewhere with a more in-depth explanation), and I met her on the boards. Absolute Write also has a Share Your Work section where you can get feedback.

brenda c

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all, I attended the writer's conference in New York in May, got a literary agent to look at my manuscript. her stance was that my story is very compelling and she wanted to know if i could get with a professional editor to (tweek) it to get it up to snuff for submission . can anyone recommend a professional editor from the absolute write website? i've looked at so many ads on the internet that they all seem to be running together now!

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor