Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave.C.Robinson

... with the High Command
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.daverobinsonwrites.com
I'm working on getting some submissions out and wonder if it's worth mentioning that I'm a former bookstore manager in my query letter? It's not a sale by any means, but it does show awareness of the industry.

Thanks.

Will Lavender

Everything is what it seems.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm going to disagree with maestrowork and say mention it.

I wouldn't dwell on it, but it does show that you more than likely have a familiarity with books.

As most here do, I know books. Especially current books. I'm in the bookstores every week, sometimes multiple times. I spend most of my money on books. This was something that my agent had me tell editors during the auction process for my novel.

And that had nothing to do with my writing, obviously -- but it did have to do with my familiarity with current writing. And that can be important, because it shows editors that you have some notions about how your book might be marketed.

Maybe something like "I'm a former bookstore manager whose first novel..." in the query.

Claudia Gray

Registered
Reaction score
I think a casual mention such as Will suggests would be fine. It falls into the category of general biographical information, after all. By mentioning it without making a big deal of it, you leave it open for those agents who would be impressed to be impressed -- and those agents who won't be impressed also won't think you were playing it up too much.

mysterygrl

Registered
Reaction score
I'd be inclined to mention it, but yeah, I wouldn't make a big deal out of it. (Something like, "I'm a former bookstore manager and currently write full-time.")

ChunkyC

It's hard being green
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'd agree with the idea of mentioning it but not drawing undue attention to it. Just note it as an item in the bio section of your query.

Dave.C.Robinson