If you could choose any publisher, explain who and why!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nateskate

For some this may be a trick question, and a loyalty question. I hope that doesn't stop honest answers. But we'll understand that if someone picked you, that you might feel loyal to stay with the team you are on.

So, I'll solve that problem with a second question. If the publisher you have now is suddenly disolved, who would be your second choice?

However, for me, being that I'm a free agent, I have thought about this. I plan to write fiction and non-fiction, and would like different publishers for each. (If I have the luxury)

Who would you pick if you had a blank check and could choose any publishing co. in the world.

I think I'd like HarperCollins because they published some of my all time favorite books.

But you can tell me why you would choose someone else, and I hope you do, because perhaps you'll influence this bumpkin when the time comes to make the choice.

mr mistook

Oh, for me, that really IS the question. It's a foregone conclusion that anything I'll write is automatically rejected by the majors. I'd need to find some small, weird, possibly european publishing house, and God save me if I know who they are.

Jules Hall

If I look at my bookshelf I see HarperCollins, ORB, HarperCollins, Voyager (an HC imprint, if you aren't familiar with it), ACE, ROC, Voyager.

I think this means that HarperCollins produce most of the books I like, so they'd probably be the best for me. :)

Stace001

If HarperCollins wanted to publish my book, I think I'd be happy with that...:eek

pdr

Harper Collins

Have a good look at their new contracts and read what other writers say about how they deal with their new authors. HarperCollins aren't kind if your second book doesn't sell as well as their accountants like. They are also said to be aiming at having no mid-list authors!!!!

Nateskate

Re: Harper Collins