Writers Who Recently Got Agents

Status
Not open for further replies.

corcutt

I'm a newbie to Absolute Write, but I have to admit I was a lurker for a quite a while. Every now and then, I would go to the Bewares and Background Checks page to look into prospective agents. This is a terrific site and a great resource. Thank you, Ms. Glatzer.

---

Recently, after 161 queries, I got an agent. I'm starting this thread so that writers who made it can share their advice.

I've written a piece on my blog describing my quest, and I'm offering a free e-book with guidelines and tips on writing the query and getting an agent.

This is not a sales pitch. Now that I finally broke through, I want to help other writers do the same.

Thanks,

Chris Orcutt

P.S.: If I created a thread that already exists, I apologize. I searched for ones on this topic and couldn't find any.

Lauri B

I Heart Mac
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Chris,
Congratulations on acquiring an agent. With what agency did you sign? If you'd rather, you can pm me with the information. Your offer of a free ebook is nice, but since you've started a thread devoted to having people share their advice, why not give some here rather than try to solicit names for your blog? Your post is pushing my spam buttons.

I like the idea of talking about how people get agents, though. I'll share my advice: I wrote a pitch, sent it out to the three top agents I wanted to work with, and received responses back within 24 hours from two of the three, requesting a proposal (it was for nonfiction). The third responded within the week. I had offers of representation from both of them within two weeks of initial contact.
My advice, based on my experience, is to write a good hook in the first three sentences.

Shady Lane

my name is hannah
Registered
Reaction score
Hey corcutt--