PDA

View Full Version : Infodump vs. ďHa, betcha didnít know I had a gun in my pocket!Ē

JohnB1988
06-25-2007, 12:12 AM
We probably need a few more threads about infodumps, so here goes:

One of the features of Japanese anime is that the hero always discovers a new/greater power/weapon/skill just when itís the only thing that will save him. OK, thatís their culture. But lately Iíve been seeing this unexpected (didnít have any warning about that) surprise occur in more and more contemporary books--mostly sci-fi and fantasy. I guess itís part of the writerís (editorís) fear of spending the time up-front to reveal all the heroineís resources. Personally I donít think it works well. Iím from the camp that says that sometimes you gotta put in a couple of dull paragraphs before the dramatic scene where the hidden gun saves the day. :rant:

I used to be a chemistry teacher--look class, itís boring, but you need to learn the names of a few elements before we get to the part where we blow up the classroom.

Is this just me? Am I getting more and more out of the mainstream of modern writing? :Shrug:

maestrowork
06-25-2007, 12:24 AM
No, it's not just you. I hate it when the guy pulls out a gun he's been carrying around (only I didn't know) just to save the day at the right moment. I am in the camp of thinking "please leave me some crumbs, some stage- and props- setting." It doesn't have to be overt foreshadowing as in "oh oh, he's going to have to use the gun later." Something subtle will do.

katiemac
06-25-2007, 12:26 AM
I notice more of what you're describing in movies or TV, not always novels. And yeah, I agree, giving us the info ahead of time is better than deus ex machina types.

But it doesn't have to be an infodump to get that information out in the open. Foreshadowing, and efficient, simple explanation is enough.