PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Math Question! Hooray!

Spiny Norman
06-21-2007, 08:56 PM
I have a part in my book where the MC is watching snow fall and he wonders out loud if it's possible to mathematically "map" snow - that is, if there's a way to mathematically express the amount, placement, and regularity of snow falling within a square inch of space in the air. The thing is that he's a burned out mathematical and scientific prodigy. It's been almost a decade since he did anything with thought, but I assume he still know a few things.

I guess it goes without saying that I am not a mathematical prodigy.

So... is this feasible? If so, how would one go about doing it? Are there wicked-cool terms like "algorithm" and such involved? Or is there just any way to go about making this sound legit?

Sophia
06-21-2007, 09:09 PM
Possibly - I'd think about the humidity that day, which (I'm assuming) is a measure of the number of water molecules per cubic metre of air. Then consider the temperature of the air. If it is at freezing point, then the statistical likelihood of one water molecule solidifying would be described by a probability curve. He'd need to take into consideration things like polluting factors in the air that might contaminate the water molecules, changing the freezing point of the resulting compound.

ETA: This is off the top of my head. You might like to look at descriptions of atmospheric modelling to see what the typical initial assumptions are for the models.

Spiny Norman
06-21-2007, 09:33 PM