Going to a book signing (not mine) :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Azure Skye

Huh?
Registered
Reaction score
Is it inappropriate to talk to the author and ask them questions about how they did it?

jchines

Got the hang of it, here
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jimchines.com
It probably depends on both the format and the author.

My last signing opened with a half-hour discussion and Q&A, where people asked me all sorts of questions about publishing and writing and such. And if the author's sitting at a table and there's no line, they probably wouldn't mind chatting. (Personally, I enjoy being able to chat with folks, so long as they're not interfering with others being able to buy the book and get it signed.)

Uncarved

I aim to misbehave
Registered
Reaction score
I was at a booksigning along with Joshilyn Jackson. I was/am a huge fan of hers and although I was an author signing there too, I got up to go talk to her. I gushed about her blog, her books, everything. We bought each others book and had it signed by each other. We still chat now. I think it depends on the venue and if its going to be appropriate and not interfere.

underthecity

Finestkind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allensedge.com
I would say no, unless you ask the author if you can ask him/her a few questions after the signing. The author is there to greet readers and sign books, and would prefer not to spend a quarter or more of the sheduled time talking with one person. (I know, it's happened to me before.)

allen

ChunkyC

It's hard being green
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I was at one event where I was out in the lobby area before the author's reading and he came by. I was nervy enough to ask him if he'd mind autographing the two books of his I'd brought, fully expecting him to just jot something and then head off, but he stuck around and chatted with me for about five minutes. It was really cool, but not something I expected at all.