The stinking rich

Status
Not open for further replies.

dolores haze

international guttersnipe
Registered
Reaction score
Hi folks, nice to meet you. Newbie here, but have a question for you. I recently finished a short romance novel that I think would be perfect for the Harlequin Presents line. My hero and heroine are both stinking rich, but not particularly show-offy about it. The trappings of wealth I see in most Harlequin Presents titles are in sparse supply in my novel - no secret islands, castles, sports cars, etc. Apart from the trappings my book fits the line very well. My question is: Would I be better off submitting it elsewhere?

Writer2011

Registered
Reaction score
I've never submitted anything, but check out Harlequin and see their submission guidlines :)

As far as submitting it elsewhere, that's entirely up to you

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
I've known a few of the "stinking rich" in real life who don't have the trappings--it's HOW they stay rich. One lovely older man I worked with was part of the Rockefeller clan, but drove an old, beat-up 70s sedan and it was tough to drag him out of khakis and flannel shirts. ;)

That said, how will the READERS know they're rich? Or is their being rich not really part of the story (and if not, why is it in there?)

Sandy J

In a state of denial...
Registered
Reaction score
Hi folks, nice to meet you. Newbie here, but have a question for you. I recently finished a short romance novel that I think would be perfect for the Harlequin Presents line. My hero and heroine are both stinking rich, but not particularly show-offy about it. The trappings of wealth I see in most Harlequin Presents titles are in sparse supply in my novel - no secret islands, castles, sports cars, etc. Apart from the trappings my book fits the line very well. My question is: Would I be better off submitting it elsewhere?

Welcome, Dolores! :welcome: