PDA

View Full Version : I'm new, and curious about something

BlueExcelsior
06-17-2007, 09:08 AM
I'm new to AW in general, but I was really surprised, when looking through the wealth of diverse forums here, that there is actually one dedicated to science fact? Amazing! I'm so glad I can tickle both my itches in one place (writing and science.)

Anyway, I digress. My question is, is anyone here familiar with the cultural movement known as Transhumanism? Is there anyone here who identifies themselves as a Transhumanist? (I figured that the science fact thread would be the most appropriate place for this question, although I did consider the non-theistic forum also.)

If you want to know what I'm talking about, please look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transhumanism

Zoombie
06-17-2007, 09:41 AM
I suppose I'm semi-transhumanist. I belive that technological advancement can make mankind better.

And worse.

So we've got to be careful.

BlueExcelsior
06-17-2007, 09:54 AM
Haha, I guess I should have suspected you, Zoombie. Of course, I completely agree. Humanity has unlimited potential, let's try not to waste it.

Anysia
06-18-2007, 08:43 AM
I'm aware of the movement and I'm against it in principle. I think we have shown that we have a remarkable capacity to tinker with things that we don't have the capacity to understand until it is too late and the damage is done.

In particular, the movement to treat things like menstruation and menopause as diseases is worrisome. Without generation-long studies we will have no idea of the effects of removing these processes from women's lives until it is too late. Of course, there are aspects of men that society and medicine are starting to treat as "diseases," but since they don't apply directly to me I don't have any examples ready. I don't think that we can modify ourselves without unanticipated and detrimental repercussions because we simply don't understand enough--and common sense is rarely applicable to complex systems.