What's your approach to starting/fleshing out a script?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chaz

Hey all, I will start off by stating am new to comicbook writing. I am a comic penciller first and foremost (I have a degree in comic art FWIW). So writing is an entirely new world to me. I have taken a creative writing class which has helped open the realm to me and am eager to move forward from there. However I find it impossible to find any comic book writing workshops in and around NYC.

That being said, I have been working on a saga of sorts. It's been in the works for about half a year. I've written bios for the characters, their abilties/powers, origins of sorts. It is in its first revision but I would like to start to develop the saga scene by scene. I am having difficulties with the approach, do I do it via flashback? Do I set the story back decades? Or do I start out with a current situation and weave the origin into the arc?

Any tips, resources or advice would be greatly appreciated.

sunandshadow

Impractical Fantasy Animal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
home.comcast.net
Well it really helps if you know how you want it to end. If you know the end you can write a brief outline of how it gets to the end, and that should tell you where it needs to start to get to that ending.

Dancre

Just have fun.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kimkouski.com
Hey all, I will start off by stating am new to comicbook writing. I am a comic penciller first and foremost (I have a degree in comic art FWIW). So writing is an entirely new world to me. I have taken a creative writing class which has helped open the realm to me and am eager to move forward from there. However I find it impossible to find any comic book writing workshops in and around NYC.