PDA

View Full Version : NEW AT REVISION? HERE'S TWO TIPS...

Star
06-13-2007, 07:44 PM
Greetings Fellow Writers,

I am now faced with the task of satisfying several editors for one book. This revision has been a doozy, considering this is my 8th revision and I have two editors interested in buying - ONLY if I address their issues.

So here's the two tips that can be a savior in your revision efforts. If you don't know already - here goes!

There is a "highlight" feature in Microsoft word. You can highlight text in different colors. This allows you to mark scenes that you feel are important, issues you have to go back to, etc. (I've been moving HUGE chunks of text back and forth, and this helps me keep track). The feature should be in the upper right hand corner of your toolbar. You'll see a box with a bunch of colors available (please go to help if you don't find it, I'm not good at describing and yes I'm a writer). Okay, next!

Please, please, please write an outline of your novel - even if you're through with it...even if it's the first tacky draft. I urge you to do so because I'm now stuck with the task of scrolling through a 200 page 'script, trying to find what happens where etc. Your outline doesn't have to be in great detail. Just jot down the order in which MAJOR Things happen. Hope this helps someone out there in cyberspace. Happy writing to all!!! :Hug2:

Jamesaritchie
06-13-2007, 09:36 PM
Shouldn't that be "here are" two tips.

JAlpha
06-13-2007, 09:58 PM
Great tips Star. Thank you for posting them.

reenkam
06-13-2007, 10:04 PM
When I have to find things in a manuscript I use the "find" tool in MS Word. It requires that you remember exactly what you typed at certain points, but if you can do this it's amazing an fast.

But I definitely agree with the making an outline, even if it's done post writing. It'll ease finding things and also helps to figure out if you have everything as tight as it could be.

stormie
06-13-2007, 10:09 PM