Status
Not open for further replies.

justpat

QueryTracker
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.querytracker.net
I've been a struggling writer for over two decades now (ever since High School), but recently discovered a new past-time which is making me think I've been going in the wrong direction all these years.

When I sit down to write, it's really hard work and I have to force myself to do it every day. Recently I discovered how much I enjoy creating websites, and began to realize something. When I'm programming, the time flies by. I forget to eat or sleep. I've gone all night without even realizing it, something I could never do writing fiction. And the final results are, in my opinion, hugely better than any novel I ever wrote.

This has been bothering me a lot lately, ever since I created the QueryTracker.net website.

So, what do I do? I know it's not easy for you to answer such a question, but any ideas? Anyone else go through something like this before? Am I having a mid-life crisis? I don't feel a need to buy a Corvette.

Reaction score
All I can do is answer from personal experience. I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that writing is my favourite thing in the world. I can't imagine not writing.

So ask yourself this - how would you feel if you looked into the future and imagined never writing again?

If it's a possibility, or not scary or disappointing, then...I think that says it all.

For me, even with my imagination, a future without writing in it is an impossibility.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Writing

I believe life is short, and I believe we should all do whatever it is that makes us happiest. I don't think it's ever about quitting. It's about trying different things until you find the one that makes you happy.

Sandy J

In a state of denial...
Registered
Reaction score