publisher vs. agent question

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookfreakguy

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to the book business. Just finished a non-fiction manuscript and am now trying to get it published. So here's my question: What does going through an agent and possibly having my book published by a big publisher do for me vs. just finding a smaller publisher on my own?

I actually have two agents considering my work and I'm pretty excited. But why is that advantageous to me going to a university press or some other small publisher that doesn't require an agent? Everything I'm reading says even with big publishers, I will pretty much be responsible for marketing. Of course, my royalties will be less AND I will have to pay an agent. And with a big publisher, the book will likely take longer to hit the stores.

I started shopping for an agent because, being new to this, I thought that was the thing to do. But now I'm really starting to wonder why I'm doing it. What am I missing here? Thanks!

Siddow

I'm super! Thanks for asking
Registered
Reaction score
A good agent will keep you from getting screwed. And they can offer career advice. Plus, you get the added benefit of starting conversations with, "My agent said..." ;)

Crinklish

Registered
Reaction score
get the agent

I'm an editor, and even I would tell you to get an agent. As the many knowledgeable people here will tell you, an agent doesn't just lie back and collect his 15% of your blood, sweat and tears. A good agent will negotiate a better contract for you than you could on your own; will serve as your advocate with the publisher as your book goes through the editorial process; will harangue your editor/publisher/what-have-you about any problems so that you can still appear to be made of sugar and spice; and will help guide your writing career so that you're not just a one-book wonder.