Search Warrant for Murder Victim's Apt?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RentMyLife

So. A character in my screenplay is murdered in the first scene, and he has no known next-of-kin. Would the police detective need a warrant to search his apartment for clues, or would the permission need be given only by the landlord?

Any help would be absolutely appreciated. Thanks!

Reaction score
Who would they serve the warrant to if the tenant was dead?! Oh of course, you mentioned the landlord.

Nah, I think they could pretty much go in and if the landlord tried to stop them that'd be obstructing justice.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
As the scene of the crime, I think they can do pretty much anything they want there. I'm no expert however.

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
The landlord would merely consent and let them in. I've worked a case where they wouldn't. That's the simplest way to answer your question.

Stijn Hommes

Know what you write...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.peccarymagazine.5u.com
If the victim was murdered there you'd have no problem at all. If the landlord objects (if the murder was committed elsewhere) you can take him in for obstruction of justice. In short: no, you don't need a warrant for the apartment of a dead person with no living relatives in the same house.

kg_crow

Please hold your applause
Registered
Reaction score
When a search is warranted

I'm in the middle of "Scene of the Crime" (A writer's guide to crime scene investigations), by Anne Winngate, PHd, (1992). She states: