Jobs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hatsumomo

I honestly have no idea where to put this, so I guess this is as good a place as any.

I'm a recent college graduate (as in 19 days ago) and I'm trying to find a job that's not a menial movie theater job (the one I've been working at since 2004). I figure that proof-reading/editing/etc. would be a good job for me since 1.) I do that anyway for friends and family and 2.) I've been an avid reader since the age of 3 and if I could find a job that essentially pays me to read and proof-read, that would terrific. I'm rather anal-retentive when it comes to spelling and grammar as well.

Thing is, I have a B.A. in psychology, not English or creative writing.

If somebody could spin me around and point me in the right direction, I would be quite grateful.

Namatu

Lost in mental space.
Registered
Reaction score
You don't need a BA in English or creative writing. You have to be able to use the language. Your psychology background could be helpful if you're editing social science works.

Check out the Web sites for publishers in your area (or an area where you'd be willing to move) and see if they have any entry level editorial positions available. If you don't know of any, try the Yellow Pages first.

Position your resume to emphasize any research and writing experience that you have, although not "proofed papers for fellow students." If you have to create bullet points under your education heading to note worthy items, do it.

If you're not already very familiar with Word, spend some time getting to know it.

Harper K

here's to the girl on the go
Registered
Reaction score
Website
weirdquietgirl.wordpress.com