a question...

Kadea

Registered
Reaction score
So I've been working on my memoir and I'm about 21,000 words in to it at last count. I have the begining, middle, end and a substantial amount in between written. The basic flow of it is worked out, so I've been going back in and filling out the stories, specific events, etc..

I'm the kind of person that works better when I have a goal to work towards and would find it much easier if I had some sort of general guidelines as to how long a memoir should be (a range is great). Could anyone offer some insight?

Thanks!

Kadea

Registered
Reaction score
So I've seen anywhere from 250 words up is average per page. So that would mean about 60,000 words give or take. Sound about right?

Another question-
At what point should I start looking for an agent? (I'm very new to this process)

Thanks so much!

Prevostprincess

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.queenoftheroadthebook.com
A lot of people (including Miss Snark) say that memoir is sold like fiction, ie you need the entire book completed before you can get an agent/publisher. That was not my experience, as I got a great agent and publisher based on a proposal with 2 sample chpts. 5% of the agents I queried wanted to see either more chpts or the whole book. The rest did not.

My personal opinion is that after perfecting your killer query letter, your proposal and sample chpts (which includes having them critiqued), it's better to spend the rest of your time developing some kind of platform, rather than writing the whole thing. Not knowing what your memoir is about, I haven't a clue what that might be for you. But, without some kind of built in readership that a platform gives, it's very very hard to sell anything, including memoir, these days.

Good luck!

Kadea

Registered
Reaction score