PDA

View Full Version : Have questions...can it be possible? I have an offer...

Elizabeth I
05-30-2007, 03:49 AM
Wow! Is this forum good luck or what? I just signed up yesterday and today a psychiatrist I know offered me a chance to collaborate on a book he wants to write from a tape he has produced. He is well-respected and I am sure there would be no problem getting it published. (He probably has people waiting for it.) I have a TON of questions, like:

How do I structure getting paid? Do I charge for research, doing interviews, etc.?
What do I ask for as far as author credit?
Is there a standard contract form?
What questions do I not even know enough to know I should be asking?I know there's probably someplace here to look that kind of thing up. Where should I go next?

Thanks a bunch!

justpat
05-30-2007, 04:35 AM
Is this a non-fiction book about psychiatry? I hope he's not your psychiatrist, because that might be a conflict of interest.

As for your questions, I'm no expert but I'm sure it all depends on whether you are being hired as a ghost writer, or are a collaborating partner, or what?

CACTUSWENDY
05-30-2007, 04:38 AM
;) Welcome to the land of hopes and dreams.

This is great news. Congratz......

Sassenach
05-30-2007, 05:18 AM
Wow! Is this forum good luck or what? I just signed up yesterday and today a psychiatrist I know offered me a chance to collaborate on a book he wants to write from a tape he has produced. He is well-respected and I am sure there would be no problem getting it published. (He probably has people waiting for it.) I have a TON of questions, like:
How do I structure getting paid? Do I charge for research, doing interviews, etc.?
What do I ask for as far as author credit?
Is there a standard contract form?
What questions do I not even know enough to know I should be asking?I know there's probably someplace here to look that kind of thing up. Where should I go next?

Thanks a bunch!

Ding ding ding...danger ahead.

Siddow