Please help me :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

LitFa

Writing Frantically
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I looked through these YA threads and didn't see the answer to my question. If there is such a thread I would be eternally grateful to be directed towards it. :D So, here goes my question. Can the MC's in YA be 18 and 20? Or is that too old? It is a Chicklit/Romance story and the girl is 18 and the guy is 20, would that be okay or do I need to a) lower their ages? or b) call it an adult romance? Any help would be appreciated. :)

_Fafi

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
I'm no expert by I see more YA books seem to be going out to those ages now. I can tell they are YA from shelving/length/reading age, so I guess is does happen, perhaps even in a bit of a new trend?

misslissy

Only a sassbucket sometimes.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
womeneverywhere.wordpress.com
Coming from my opinion as a YA reader, age doesn't matter so much. It's about the story and the maturity of the story and whether or not the MCs are going through problems that I can relate to and understand. I don't see a problem with them being that age, as long as you play it right. Again, this is just my opinion and I'm not exactly certified to offer it or anything, just trying to be helpful.

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com
I think it's no problem at all. People are getting younger and younger. Kids in their 20s (who are technically adults) are still more like teenagers now. Many still living at home, not knowing what to do with their lives (I say this as someone in their twenties). And think about the popularity of shows like The Hills which is about kids post high school, yet is loved by a much younger crowd.

I think you're just fine.

Hermshark

Registered
Reaction score
tone of the writing