Advice from songwriters/music writers requested

Woof

Outward Hound
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I really need the advice of any songwriters or music writers/composers out there, because I have a question:

I have just been commissioned to write words for a song. The music is expected to be approximately 8 minutes in length. I confess my utter inexperience in this form, and would like to know this:

What is the ratio between instrumental music and the written word? Or, in other words, for 8 minutes of music what should the length of the text ie. poetry or lyrics be? 8 minutes? 4 minutes? 3 minutes? Should I simply be noting the total time as I read aloud the completed written text?

Rivana

Walks in the shades.
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.rivanacreations.com
I'm not an expert, but here's my two cents: It depends on the type of song really, and the type of music and lyrics. If you take something like Lady of Shalott the lyrics take presidency, but in some forms of rock and alternative music for example a song can go on for that long with hardly any lyrics at all. Talk to the composer about it so you're on the same page.

Woof

Outward Hound
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Rivana, thanks for the advice. It's true that the style of the song should dictate the length of the text. I've already spoken with the composer, and he prefers that I write the lyrics first before he can set them to music (piano). The composer and I plan to meet with the singer, who's the one who has actually hired us, as well as the pianist. Hopefully between the four of us, we can hammer out a time framework for the song.

Lindo

Banned
Reaction score
Weird assignment. Eight minutes is an awful long song. Perhaps the singer would let you know if he expects long interludes of solos.