PDA

View Full Version : cause for self-loathing

Anthony Ravenscroft
05-22-2007, 09:39 AM
I try not to be a music snob, but the fact is I love it. I'm a musician, & very knowledgeable about music from around the world & in various eras & cultures. As well, I like to be on the cutting edge of club music, but I'm also conversant in 1950s Nashville, the Romantic composers, the Baroque era, the rise of jazz...

But there are some bands, some tunes that I'm a little embarrassed to admit liking. At the same time, I find it funny that this should be a problem. So I'm going to lead off the "guilty pleasures" confessions.

I like listening to Rick Astley.

And Hootie & the Blowfish.

Rivana
05-22-2007, 11:00 AM
Hey, don't go dissing H&B, Let Her Cry is one of my fave songs. ^o^ And I, don't care who knows about it. Then again, I haven't been a music snob for years.

:) But Props to you for being brave about it.

Shadow_Ferret
05-22-2007, 03:54 PM
I don't really consider myself a music snob, in fact, I tend to look down on music snobs. If they can't appreciate certain types of music, that's a fault within themselves, not the music.

That said, I don't know who Rick Astley is, but Hootie bored me.

ModoReese
05-23-2007, 05:19 AM
I liked "I want it that way" by the Backstreet Boys.

There. Said. Where do I turn in my music critic's card?

Seriously..... it was a finely crafted pop tune. Heckuva hook. Drove me crazy...

Michelle

Nolita
05-23-2007, 06:27 AM
Rick Astley's a tiny little white man with a big black voice. He sang Never Gonna Give You Up.

My guilty pleasure would have to be Robbie Williams. Only, I don't feel even a little bit guilty. See, I always had a crush on Cornelius in Planet of the Apes, and dang if Robbie's not a dead ringer for a human sized chimp with a british accent.