Newbie needs advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

scorpioraleigh

Hi all!
I was lucky enough to stumble upon this forum and was hoping for a few pointers. I am a first-time writer and my non-fiction book is about 50% complete. I have no idea where to go from here. I have searched the web for literary agents and sent out about a dozen inquiry letters. I have gotten back 2 form letter denials so far. ANY advice, suggestions, pointers are so welcome. As is any information on other websites, forums or FAQ's! Thanks!

Robin

Tish Davidson

Book Proposals

Agents are acquired and nonfiction books sold via book proposals. These are specific documents that detail not only the book, but the intended audience, marketing possibilities, and writer's credentials. If you don't know how to write one, you can start at www.adlerbooks.com and then invest in the Michael Larson book How to Write a Book Proposal. You need not finish the book to sell it. In fact, unlike novels, most non-fiction books are not complete when sold.

veingloree

Re: Book Proposals

It depends greatly on your topic and therefore the type of publisher that might be interested.

scorpioraleigh

Here is a short synopsis. Perhaps that will help.