PDA

View Full Version : Climate expert needed!

Raven Dane
05-19-2007, 04:16 AM
I need to know what would happen to the world's climate if the planet's largest forests such the Amazon rain forest and the Malaysian jungle were to be suddenly destroyed by a catastrophic event.
I tried asking on a weather forum I have belonged to for three years and they removed the thread! I did explain I was a fantasy author doing research...odd....
Any help gratefully recieved.

Sassee
05-19-2007, 07:35 AM
More than likely, your catastrophic event will have more of an effect on the climate than the disappearance of trees. Something that blows away miles upon miles of forests is going to be more important in the short term, I would think.

Unless they're destroyed by magic, and then I dunno what to tell ya.

Raven Dane
05-20-2007, 03:32 AM
Thanks for your reply, much appreciated.
No nothing magic triggers the event but a powerful force draining the bio-energy from the jungles and forests. If that helps! I know you can have a certain amount of leeway with fantasy writing but I want to keep a certain degree of plausability. For instance, we know huge volcanos effect the weather and sunsets over vast areas of the globe. This is the sort of thing I am trying to visualise.

Tsu Dho Nimh
05-20-2007, 06:42 AM
Just a "blight" that kills the vegetation and leaves dead trees?

Massive erosion, for starters

clara bow
05-20-2007, 07:11 AM
Just a "blight" that kills the vegetation and leaves dead trees?

Massive erosion, for starters

So in the long run, that would negatively impact farming and the food supply, yes?

oarsman
05-20-2007, 07:17 AM
Loss of rainforests:
- an increase CO2 levels in the atmosphere might occur because the forests would not be around to remove the large amounts of CO2 that they would normally do. This could result in a great amount of global warming.
- possible increase in flooding and erosion, especially around the rivers like the Amazon.