write that book or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi there. Some questions for those published non-fiction book authors out there: how did you decide to write that book in the first place? How do you determine if it's worth the gamble of your time vs. just continuing to work on selling articles?
I have been selling articles for a couple of years now and have an idea for a book in a series by a certain book publisher. My questions are:

- how can I estimate how many my title might sell
- how can I judge how much time it will take to research and write
- if the book is published, how much time will I need to devote to promotion, and is it possible to fit this in if you work fulltime Mon-Fri 9-5 in a day job?

Overall, has it been more profitable to write and sell a book or more profitable to stick with articles, where at least you know up front how much you'll earn?

Is a book credit worth a lot to your writing career, or no?

Many thanks for your comments!

cheers

underthecity

303030, what kind of nonfiction title do you want to do? Will it be regional-interest, or appeal nationally?

I have two regional history books published now, and both of these appeal largely to Cincinnati readers, but their themes appeal to people interested in mass transit all over the country. So, my topics are more narrow-focused, but the first one, The Cincinnati Subway is still selling very well and is entering its 5th printing after being out for a year and a half. The subway book is regional to be sure, but it has a lot of information and photographs that appeal to railroad/street railway fans across the nation.

The second book is Cincinnati on the Go came out a couple of weeks ago, and so far readers I've spoken to really like it. This second title is a pictorial history of mass transit in Cincinnati, so it's not text heavy like the first book.

Now from this perspective, to answer your questions: