PDA

View Full Version : Songwriting versus Poetry

Hakiru
05-18-2007, 04:50 AM
Is there a major difference between the songwriting and poetry? I've been thinking about tackling songwriting, but I needed more info first. Thanks!

Also, is there certain rules or guidelines to songwriting?

Hakiru

Nolita
05-18-2007, 06:15 AM
I'm no expert, but it's all rather Through The Looking Glass...

Lyrics are by nature poetic. But poems aren't necessarily lyrical.

Just my opinion but lyrics without a melody or beat are just a poem. It doesn't matter how beautiful, they're a poem. There are tone poems that are songs though...

On a personal level(maybe very personal) I prefer lyrics that have good meter and rhyme. I don't feel that way about poetry though. I mean, straight poems don't have to rhyme for me to like them.

Easy I suppose is to just write lyrics and find someone who's good at music who just writes music. I figure that's only easy if you can find someone whose music meshes well with your lyrics, and if you can communicate well.
So yeah, hard...

Hehe, I'm just getting the ball rolling. Hey SONGWRITERS! Jump in here will ya? At least she's asking for help on a realistic level. Didn't just jump in with a poem and call it a song...

Hakiru
05-18-2007, 08:01 AM
Lol! Thanks for the reply! Your advice and info was very helpful! Seems like maybe I do have a shot at this songwriting genre! Also, as in all writing genres, finding someone to edit, publish, or collaborate with is half the challenge!

Hakiru

benbradley
05-18-2007, 12:32 PM
Is there a major difference between the songwriting and poetry? I've been thinking about tackling songwriting, but I needed more info first. Thanks!

Also, is there certain rules or guidelines to songwriting?

Hakiru
I've always heard they're different, but I've never been sure how, but now that you ask and I think about it...

Popular songs have formulaic structure, usually something close to this:

verse
chorus
verse
chorus
bridge
verse