PDA

View Full Version : Violin players needed!!!

citymouse
05-10-2007, 04:39 PM
Hello everyone, I need an opinion from somebody who knows something about orchestral music, especially violin. I'm a pianist (of sorts, and not very good - lol) but I've never played in an orchestra and I've never played a violin. In my WIP I'm trying to describe a concerto based on the Prometheus legend. I have a book on violin playing, but that's not the same as actually knowing how to play one. I need someone who could look at the section below and see if it makes sense, music-wise. It's intentionally emotional, but if it crosses the line into purple I want to know. Describing a non-existent musical work has proven harder than I thought! It has to be emotionally involving because the concerto is the crux of the end of the book. Anyway, anyone who will be so kind, will have my undying gratitude.

C
=======================

The baton swept up and down. The music began with the lilting love theme, laughter made into tone…

…Prometheus and his beloved, fragile human children played in the warm Aegean sun. Clouds darkened, the wind howled, Night, black and forbidding, fell and Man became faint and afraid. Prometheus went to Zeus and begged fire. Angered, Zeus tore the heavens apart with his thunderbolts. Prometheus could not bear to see his children so terrified in the darkness. Stealthily he crept to the sacred flame and stole just a small part of it. He gave it to Man and Man was warm and unafraid…
The violin played more and more frantically and the orchestra crashed and moaned behind it as the gods descended in their wrath upon brave Prometheus and dragged him to the mountaintop.
Dylan’s left hand grabbed the off?beat accents as if to physically drag them from the trumpets. His right arm made horizontal arcing motions as if bowing an enormous contrabass. Abruptly the orchestra fell silent.