beginners projects

Status
Not open for further replies.

koolin

Hi, I am a newbie, seeking for advice:

I've got some publishing ideas, but not any ideas of publishing.
To learn the trade I've got two projects in mind and I would like to ask you if one of these is a good beginners project.

In both books I would not write anything.

First project: a specialiced shopping guide to our metropolitan area (listings with adress, contact data etc. as well as adds)
Second: A specialized garden book for our area. Toghether with one of our gardenings clubs (I admit that I didn't ask them until now). This book would have an add part at the end.

For both books I would not have any concurrence. The second book idea seems to me much easier because I think it is a very difficult job selling adds as a newbie.

I tend to think that the garden book is the better project to begin, but I am not shure if any of these projects are suitable and /or have some return.
The next big city is more than thousand km away - we've got really a different climate so I assume that there is a need of a garden book for our region, however I don't know it.
How can I estimate if there is a demand for this book?
I have in mind making a written concept, a rough idea of the printing prices, taking this to one of the garden clubs and ask if they are intersted. Provided they will, we go on creating the book and at one stage we should sell the adds.
Do you think this is a way to go on? When should I/we begin to sell adds?
Is it possible to sell the adds in advance in order to get the printing paid beforehead?

Both books should befairly simple, perhaps a second colour the garden book rather for the shed than for the coffee table.

It would be great having some opinions!

JanDarby

Registered
Reaction score
Books don't generally have ads in them.