PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

facsmth
04-29-2007, 04:48 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie. I've been reading the material against PublishAmerica and despite this, I've decided to sign on with them. I understand that I'll be safe as long as I don't buy too many books from them. If my friends or family want a copy, they can give me the money to take advantage of the 20% discount or else just pay PA uprfront without the discount.

I've just recently distributed booklets of my fiction to friends of mine (giving them away free of charge even though I paid from $20 - $10 each copy). I am not a rep of this disreputable publisher. Just a youngster in bad health who might not find a legitimate publisher within my life time.

Here's a sample of some of my stuff. (http://www.geocities.com/hurinsteadfast/MORfictionthree4282007.htm)

Ol' Fashioned Girl
04-29-2007, 04:54 AM
Try Lulu! It's MUCH cheaper.

Ol' Fashioned Girl
04-29-2007, 04:55 AM
Oh... and welcome to AW.

Now... go check out Lulu.com (http://www.lulu.com/author/create.php)!

The Lady
04-29-2007, 05:35 AM
Good luck with your writing career, whatever you choose. I tried out the sample of your work but the font was pretty close to unreadable.

CaoPaux
04-29-2007, 06:12 AM
Taking this at face value...with Lulu you could have your books in hand much faster than with PA.

facsmth
04-29-2007, 06:30 AM
You mean like this? (http://www.lulu.com/browse/book_view.php?fCID=825207)

Maddog
04-29-2007, 06:46 AM
That's pricey for sure, but PA books are always softcovers. They cost from $17-$30.

There's a poster named bstevens who started an I love PA thread. No matter how anyone tried to tell her PA was no good, she stubbornly supported them. Until she got her $8 royalty check. It was sad.

facsmth
04-29-2007, 07:36 AM
Oh the heck with Publish America. I should of suspected something since the acceptance letter came within the week of the submission. :D

Is this okay? Res Kid. (http://www.lulu.com/content/825338)