Adios Partial Birth Abortion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20070418/ap_on_go_su_co/scotus_abortion

The Supreme Court upheld the nationwide ban on a controversial abortion procedure Wednesday, handing abortion opponents the long-awaited victory they expected from a more conservative bench.

The 5-4 ruling said the Partial Birth Abortion Ban Act that Congress passed and President Bush signed into law in 2003 does not violate a woman's constitutional right to an abortion.

The opponents of the act "have not demonstrated that the Act would be unconstitutional in a large fraction of relevant cases," Justice Anthony Kennedy wrote in the majority opinion.

The administration defended the law as drawing a bright line between abortion and infanticide.

I am a big pro-choicer, but partial birth abortion is a brutal procedure and it's finally been outlawed.

IMOYou want an abortion, get one in the first tri-mester or before a doctor has to crush the skull of a fetus in the birth canal.

Well done, Supreme Court.

Celia Cyanide

Joker Groupie
Registered
Reaction score
I am a big pro-choicer, but partial birth abortion is a brutal procedure and it's finally been outlawed.

IMOYou want an abortion, get one in the first tri-mester or before a doctor has to crush the skull of a fetus in the birth canal.

Well done, Supreme Court.

According to Roe V Wade, late term abortion is already illegal, excepting a health risk. This ban makes it illegal, even if there is a health risk for the woman, which is the only time the procedure is performed.

Women who stay pregnant after the second trimester want to have children. If this happens, it is because something has gone horribly wrong.

Reaction score
Great.

More stupid, unwanted people for the planet.

It's not a popular procedure.

So, there won't be that that many more.

We will be able to assimilate them into the large bloc and/or block of stupid, unwanted people we already have.