Not open for further replies.

pconsidine

Too Adorkable for Words
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.pjcopy.com
Howdy all.

I'm currently in the process of researching a story for an independent feature film and I would love the chance to speak with someone who has experience in sign language interpreting in a medical setting, either as the interpreter or the deaf person. I have a number of other resources that I'm following up on, but there's just no subsitute for first hand experiences.

Replies, private messages or emails are all very welcome.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Pete

moth

my own two hands
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a professional sign language interpreter, nine years experience. PM me.

Rabe

the living dead
Registered
Reaction score
Last May I was involved in a car accident and had to spend a week in a coma, had a tracheotomy put in and when I woke up from the coma, I was unable to speak for another four days.

I didn't think it would be so bad as I am somewhat proficient with ASL (my brother is hearing impaired and I 'intrepret' at work). However none of my nurses, doctors or other care givers knew fundamental sign language. The only person I ran into who did know was a 'social care worker' who took several classes in ASL but hardly got the chance to use it. She had even forgotten her numbers. I didn't get to meet her until four days after waking from the coma. I was able to get her to understand my concern for my father who had to drive hundreds of miles to see me and was supposed to have arrived the day before, that I needed my glasses and to make sure he was alright.

But she and I muddled through. Fortunately for me (unfortunately for her), shortly after she and I talked my tracheotomy came out and I could speak normally again.

I really had thought there would have been someone around who would have known sign language as it's a large, university hospital and services a wide range of the surrounding communities.