PDA

View Full Version : How would you have dealt with it?

jthome1223
04-06-2007, 10:29 AM
I just purchased a book from PA.

I'll give you a second to digest that information.

Anyway, I work as a reporter at a newspaper, and a former co-worker of mine had a book published through PA. Now, she didn't tell me she published through PA in the e-mail she sent me, but it was obvious that she was very excited about the whole thing. For some reason -- since I know how hard it is to get published in the real world, probably -- I immediately thought, "Oh, no. Please tell me she didn't go with PA."

Sure enough, she did.

I didn't tell want to burst her bubble, of course, so I put on my happy face and extended the requisite congratulations.

And bought the book. Let me tell you, it was beyond painful shelling out $25 for something PA produced.

I certainly don't want to support them.

But I do want to support my friend.

Now, the information that PA is little more than a vanity publisher is all over the place. If you really want to find out what they're all about, it takes about five seconds of research. However, if YOUR FRIENDS, who you know to be intelligent people, choose to turn a blind eye to that information, all you can really do is suck it up and soldier on.

Right?

Right?

Any thoughts on this? How would YOU have dealt with it? Personally, though I know the information is accurate, it irks me when some people pontificate about PA and end up coming across as know-it-all blowhards. What's probably meant as helpful advice often sounds like pompous "words from on high" in the mouths of certain posters. If this isn't the time to keep your mouth shut, when is?

James D. Macdonald
04-06-2007, 02:51 PM
"Congratulations!" is always in order.

PA author's sales go to friends and family. We already know this.

I've bought a PA book too.

endless rewrite
04-06-2007, 03:01 PM