Advice Offered for Interviewing Techniques

Status
Not open for further replies.

JJ Cooper

Registered
Reaction score
I came to this forum to learn and seek advice when needed to help with my writing. I figure that I am not the only one out there who has and I would like to help out where I can.

I have a lot of experience in conducting and teaching interviewing and questioning techniques. This includes a wide variety of interviewing types from debriefing to investigative interviews and the types of questions used to get the best results.

If you are planning on interviewing someone for research purposes or you have incorporated an interview into your writing, I will be happy to help out on the technical side of things.

JJ

ChaosTitan

Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kellymeding.com
Hi JJ and welcome! Thanks for the offer, that's very generous. You may also want to pop down to a board a few below this one, called Story Research, and post your offer there, as well.

JJ Cooper

Registered
Reaction score
JJ, is there a difference in conducting interviews in person, on the phone, and in e-mail?

Yes Lori there is a huge difference. Where possible you should always try to conduct an interview face to face. The main reason for this is to evaluate the behaviour of the interviewee.

Research suggests the relative proportion of information is passed via three elements:

Verbal - 7% (what is said)

Vocal - 38% (how it is said)

Non verbal - 55% (facial expression, posture, gestures)