Tell me about the Louisiana coast

Status
Not open for further replies.

Excelsior

Don't panic.
Registered
Reaction score
Hey, y'all. My MSS is set in a medium sized fictional town in Louisiana along the coast (it's necessary for one of the characters - that's a story in and of itself). Problem is, I've never been there.

Can anyone tell me some good stuff I can toss in to maintain credibility? The scents, the textures, the sounds - what are they like? I know that humidity's a factor there, but what else about the weather should be added? Or anything else in general that a Northern boy might not think to ask about?

Anything anyone can give would be much appreciated. Thanks!

KCathy

Writer when I grow up
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.catherinebusinelle.com
I lived in New Iberia (where Tobasco sauce is made) from age four to age sixteen (when I graduated), so I'm not a real Cajun, but I can give you a few distinctive details:

Smells:
- burning cane: after harvesting it but before transporting it, the farmers burn sugarcane in the fields, which has a strong smell similar to burning green grass (this would be in late summer, like August/September)
- cane factories: for maybe five miles in any direction, the cane processing plants reek (I kind of like the smell, though, so it might depend a bit on your character)
- hot sauce factories: you can't smell those as far away, but they have a several-block radius reek factor and smell sour, more like rancid peppers than spicy food

Travel:
- lots of bridges: we crossed the Bayou Teche about five or six times on the way to school each morning
- cane trucks during harvest season: you won't hit this in town, but in the country, getting stuck behind what's essentially a tractor pulling several enormous baskets of burned cane is torture; they also drop lots of bits of burned cane all over the roads

Flora: