PDA

View Full Version : Why in the world did I ever think I wanted to do this for a living?

DeadlyAccurate
03-26-2007, 08:59 PM
I never felt this emotional rollercoaster as a computer programmer. And I made a helluva lot more money (for that matter, I made a helluva lot more money working the counter at McDonald's.)

So why, exactly, did I decide to be a writer? After the initial high of getting an agent, now I have to deal with the lows of editor rejections. I know I can write well, but maybe I can't write quite well enough. Maybe I'm just below that threshold of publishable.

If I went back to work full time, I would be moderately wealthy within a few years and I could spend all my free time playing video games and reading books. So what sort of insane person must I be to not do that?

(OK, that's enough whining. I have a short story to edit, my current WIP's second draft to complete, and another novel's final draft to revise.)

Angelinity
03-26-2007, 09:05 PM
...because you have to write -- must write -- and will write :)

CaroGirl
03-26-2007, 09:08 PM
I dunno. Maybe we're all crazy. But nothing beats the high of success in this business (so I'm told). It'll all be worth it to see your book up there on store shelves.

All the best, and hang in there!!

SpookyWriter
03-26-2007, 09:10 PM
I never felt this emotional rollercoaster as a computer programmer. And I made a helluva lot more money (for that matter, I made a helluva lot more money working the counter at McDonald's.)

So why, exactly, did I decide to be a writer? After the initial high of getting an agent, now I have to deal with the lows of editor rejections. I know I can write well, but maybe I can't write quite well enough. Maybe I'm just below that threshold of publishable.

If I went back to work full time, I would be moderately wealthy within a few years and I could spend all my free time playing video games and reading books. So what sort of insane person must I be to not do that?