Scary Read Recommendations Requested

narnia

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
My WIP is going to be a scary story when complete, at least that is my stated goal! :D

I thought I might go back and read the only book that I can recall ever scaring me enough not to read next to a window of any kind, to see why it scared me, but that book is no longer in print. (It was 'The Wolfen' by Whitley Strieber, and it could just be hazy memories.....) I could order a used copy but I am going out of town in a few days and would like to take something along to distract me from cramped-leg-airline syndrome so that won't work.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good scary book?

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. If anyone reads this after the fact please feel free post a suggestion anyway - you can never read too many scary books!

narnia

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Linda, and thanks for the advice. I am very very new to this whole 'writing' world, my only qualification being a life-long desire to write. I know I have a lot to learn! I guess my problem is that I am still not sure how to categorize the book I am working on, so perhaps what I want to read for some 'inspiration' may not be a book like 'The Wolfen'. I mentioned that one because it is the only one I can recall scaring me, although it was over 20 years ago...