03-21-2007, 12:33 AM
Which is correct, or in what context?

"You won't believe what just happened."

"You wouldn't believe what just happened."

Mr. Fix
03-21-2007, 12:36 AM
You would not believe... Past tense 'You wouldn't'

You will not believe... Present tense 'You won't'

I'm no grammer expert, but this seems to me to fit the difference.

Flay
03-21-2007, 02:34 AM
It depends on the context:

"You won't believe what just happened, but I'm going to tell you anyway."

"You wouldn't believe what just happened, so I won't bother telling you."

Mr. Fix
03-21-2007, 02:37 AM
It depends on the context:

"You won't believe what just happened, but I'm going to tell you anyway." (present event)

"You wouldn't believe what just happened, so I won't bother telling you." (Past event)

Just thinking...

maestrowork
03-21-2007, 02:42 AM
No both are in present tense, just for comparison's sake. In past tense, it would be:

"He wouldn't believe what had just happened."

Flay
03-21-2007, 02:47 AM
"Won't" in your first example implies futurity: "When I tell you what just happened, you will not believe it."

maestrowork
03-21-2007, 02:49 AM
Ah, I think I am getting it. But what does "you wouldn't mean" in the second case?

blacbird
03-21-2007, 02:51 AM
I think I'd just shorten it to:

"Damn!"

caw

TheIT
03-21-2007, 03:04 AM
Ah, I think I am getting it. But what does "you wouldn't mean" in the second case?

"If I told you, you wouldn't believe it."

The "wouldn't" implies that I'm making a judgment call on what I think you'll believe, but I'm not necessarily going to test the theory by telling you.

Try this example:

"You won't go with me to the movies." -- I have no doubt that you'll stay home.

"You wouldn't go with me to the movies." -- I'm of the opinion that if I asked you, you would not go.

Hope this helps.

maestrowork
03-21-2007, 03:06 AM
So "would" is a subjunctive mood, and the "if" is implied.

Rich
03-21-2007, 03:07 AM
I'd go with either, but without the contractions.