PDA

View Full Version : Are You Obsessing Too Much About Making your Novel Perfect?

rugcat
03-12-2007, 10:44 PM
From Publishers Weekly:

Books as Wallpaper
Meanwhile, the Guardian reports on a UK survey that underscores the importance of books -- often bought but not read -- as symbols. Fifty-five percent of the 4,000 adults polled by Teletext said "they buy books for decoration, and have no intention of actually reading them."
Guardian (http://books.guardian.co.uk/news/articles/0,,2031646,00.htm)

MidnightMuse
03-12-2007, 10:47 PM
Can you hear it? That sound . . . it's my ego deflating.

Actually I have been obessing overly much, and it stalled me out for a few months. Now I think I'll hit the bottle (well, right after lunch).

Shadow_Ferret
03-12-2007, 10:52 PM
I don't care what their reasoning is as long as they buy my book.

giftedrhonda
03-12-2007, 10:54 PM
LOLOLOLOLOLOL Shadow Ferret...I'd like to say the same. However, I want people to not only buy my stuff, but read it and fall in love with my writing. hahahahahahaa

MidnightMuse
03-12-2007, 10:59 PM
Well, the Ferret makes a good point. Maybe I should strive for an attractive book, so it'll be desired among the decorators?

Shadow_Ferret
03-12-2007, 11:10 PM
Have it bound in cool antiquey faux-leather.

Claudia Gray
03-12-2007, 11:23 PM
On the other hand, the survey could mean that people buy some books as decoration without intending to read them (the classic "coffee-table book"), but not that this is the only reason they ever buy books.

The Lady
03-13-2007, 04:16 AM
I've always regarded my books as small furniture but up to about two years ago, I also read every one I ever bought. I don't know what happened to my reading habits but now they just accumulate in a pile in the living room and I dread people picking one up and asking, "Is this any good?"

BTW, I keep them in a wicker basket for appearance sake. They do look lovely. I feel all intelligent everytime I pass by.

Maprilynne
03-13-2007, 06:19 AM