Are You Obsessing Too Much About Making your Novel Perfect?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rugcat

Lost in the Fog
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jlevitt.com
From Publishers Weekly:

Books as Wallpaper

Meanwhile, the Guardian reports on a UK survey that underscores the importance of books -- often bought but not read -- as symbols. Fifty-five percent of the 4,000 adults polled by Teletext said "they buy books for decoration, and have no intention of actually reading them."
Guardian

MidnightMuse

Midnight Reading
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Can you hear it? That sound . . . it's my ego deflating.

Actually I have been obessing overly much, and it stalled me out for a few months. Now I think I'll hit the bottle (well, right after lunch).

giftedrhonda

Gifted Goofball
Registered
Reaction score
LOLOLOLOLOLOL Shadow Ferret...I'd like to say the same. However, I want people to not only buy my stuff, but read it and fall in love with my writing. hahahahahahaa

MidnightMuse

Midnight Reading
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Well, the Ferret makes a good point. Maybe I should strive for an attractive book, so it'll be desired among the decorators?

Claudia Gray

Registered
Reaction score
On the other hand, the survey could mean that people buy some books as decoration without intending to read them (the classic "coffee-table book"), but not that this is the only reason they ever buy books.

The Lady

Critical Member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
theladywolf.livejournal.com
I've always regarded my books as small furniture but up to about two years ago, I also read every one I ever bought. I don't know what happened to my reading habits but now they just accumulate in a pile in the living room and I dread people picking one up and asking, "Is this any good?"

BTW, I keep them in a wicker basket for appearance sake. They do look lovely. I feel all intelligent everytime I pass by.

Maprilynne