PDA

View Full Version : Medical expert help needed

MarkEsq
03-10-2007, 02:16 AM
I have two questions relating to the death of my main victim.

1. If his body has been kept cold for 24 hours and then allowed to warm up slowly (in a fairly warm lake) is it possible that an inattentive medical examiner could get the time of death wrong by 24 hours? (He didn't know it was on ice).

2. If a man is knocked unconscious and then sealed in an airtight, coffin-like container, would the ME be able to identify the cause of death easily? What would it be?

Thank you!!

ColoradoGuy
03-10-2007, 04:04 AM
I don't know about your first question, but the cause of death for the second would be suffocation, which I expect the ME could figure out.

Sandi LeFaucheur
03-10-2007, 05:25 AM
I have no experience in the field whatsoever, other than from watching Silent Witness! :) But--I imagine an inattentive medical examiner could get a lot more wrong than just the time of death.

Tish Davidson
03-10-2007, 07:39 AM
1. Yes, if it wasn't clear that the body had been cooled and then re-warmed, a casual ME or one who thought he knew what had happened, might be off on time of death. Remember, that if the body is found in a lake and has no water in the lungs, then the ME will know the person did not drown.

If you want to read an interesting book about decomposition of the body, check out Stiff by Mary Roach. I thought it was fascinating. (wonder what that says about me?)

Zoombie
03-10-2007, 07:42 AM
Stiff was very very interesting in a creepy head swap operation kind of way.

And, to the answer of 2, based of my highly advanced degree in watching CSI and the X-files, I do believe that a ME can notice the tell tail signs of asphyxiation. Oh and if they find the body in a airless chamber...I think they'd be able to put two and two together.

Vanatru
03-10-2007, 06:36 PM
I don't have Zoombies CSI/Xfile experience, but I'll take a swing at this. :)