Is Publish America Good? Yes or No

Is Publish America Good? Yes or No

• Total voters

newportcat

I am an author who has just been accepted by publish america. I am now wondering if it is worth it. I have read through some of the threads and find it time consuming. I only want to hear a yes or no answer from people on whether I should publish with the company as an unknown author.

A am looking to make money and not just trying to get a book published. I also have many avenues to sell the book myself as I am a professional speaker. I appreciate all the yes or no's or any other advice anyone could give me.

I really have no idea about this process and do not want to get suckered into a bad deal. Thanks in advance

James D Macdonald

Good Deal?

Please read the various threads here. Go over to Publish America and read the PA authors' messageboard there.

Pay attention to the following:

1) Lack of editing
2) Poor contract
3) Very high cover prices
4) Lack of distribution
5) Lack of publicity
6) No returns policy

Depending on your situation, if your plan is to sell books from the back of the hall after you make a presentation, you might be better advised to go to a local short-run printer to see what it would cost to run off a thousand copies.

Traditional publication has POD in general and PA in particular beat all hollow.

FM St George

you get what you pay for...

it's all in the contract - if you don't read it before signing, then you're being more foolish.

can't say I've had any problems with PA, but I did my homework before signing - unlike a lot, it seems...

*shrug*

marky48

Re: you get what you pay for...

Unfortunately, it's not in the contract; promotion; bookstore placement; in exchange for the rights, no mention of price-per-page count and so on. They're crooks; it's misrepresentation-deliberately.

Tish Davidson

books sold?

Just curious FM St. George, how many of your books have you sold since you seem to be one of the few satisfied PA authors?