PDA

View Full Version : British Lawyers

LimeyDawg
02-25-2007, 05:20 AM
One of the very minor characters in my WIP is a British Lawyer/barrister. My question is: how do these folks introduce themselves to clients? My MC is in jail and meets the barrister working for a Duke who offers him a deal. Here in the states they would likely just say "Hi, I'm John Saville and I'm a lawyer representing the Duke of Mellon." Anyone have any ideas? Also, if anyone knows what the inside of a British jail cell looks like, a description would be most welcome (no questions asked. Nudge, nudge, wink, wink)

frimble3
02-25-2007, 05:51 AM
I don't know anything useful about the British legal system, except for 'as seen on TV', but out of sheer curiosity, what is the Duke doing in jail that his barrister is paying him a visit? Also, are prisoners allowed to have visitors in their cells, or would it be a visiting room?

scarletpeaches
02-25-2007, 06:20 AM
Depends on where in Britain your book is set; there are different legal systems in each country in the British Isles. Even what we call lawyers is different.

pdr
02-25-2007, 06:30 AM
the word lawyer is not mentioned.

In your case your MC's solicitor would introduce him to his up and coming barrister or his expensively best-of-all experienced Queen's Council.

Solicitors deal with every day, mundane legal things. Your barrister or QC deals with legal matters in court.

Get the British TV drama series Judge?!!! Rats, I've forgotten the name. PM Scarlet Peaches. I'm sure she mentioned she was a fan of this series. It will show you how the courts work, the inside of court cells and the inside of a British prison.

LimeyDawg
02-25-2007, 06:53 AM
I don't know anything useful about the British legal system, except for 'as seen on TV', but out of sheer curiosity, what is the Duke doing in jail that his barrister is paying him a visit? Also, are prisoners allowed to have visitors in their cells, or would it be a visiting room?