Pen Names?

Status
Not open for further replies.

happinee

Registered
Reaction score
well i'm a young writer and i'm wondering what are pen names are for?
i looked it up in the internet and didn't find very much unformation!

Thank you!,
Happinee

Siddow

I'm super! Thanks for asking
Registered
Reaction score
There are lots of different reason people use pen names. If you write in more than one genre, using a pen name for each one will keep your readers from expecting a romance and buying a horror novel. Some writers just want the anonymity. Or if your name is Eliasistionson Gorbondamondovi, the publisher may want you to rethink it. Elias Gordon? Ellis Mondovi? E.S. Gorbon?

Tallymark

Registered
Reaction score
Like Siddow said, there's lots of reasons--it's different for every writer. Like, me, I plan to use a pen name for my romance novels. Why? Because the other stuff I write is young adult fantasy. So, if I make a name for myself with the latter, do I want kids who've read my fantasy books to look up my name and find heavily sexual vampire smut? Nope. I'll probably use my real name for just about any other genre I write, but I want to separate the kid-friendly from the adults-only, so that my reputation in one genre doesn't affect my reptuation in another.