PDA

View Full Version : I feel like I'm back at Square One with writing (rant)

Sean D. Schaffer
02-23-2007, 03:26 AM
Hi everyone,

I don't know how to say this, but after 25 years of aspiring to be a professional writer, and having tried several genres and different formats of writing, I feel like I'm still trying to figure out what I should stick to writing. Earlier today I felt so depressed I wrote a little 'goodbye-letter' to my writing career. Of course, I'm not going to just give up, but I have never been good at finding exactly what to write.

I know I'm not good at full-length novels, because I can never seem to get them to proper length. I can't seem to get into anything else as far as submissions goes, because I'm terrified of failure. And I feel like some kind of loser, in a way, because I've been writing so long a time without any reward.

I don't know what to do or what to think or anything. I'm so flat-out tired and my imagination seems to have run so dry, that I cannot write anything at present, except for posts here at AW.

This is by no means a goodbye-letter. Rather, this is a mini-rant, and in a way a question. I don't know what to do, what to write, how to submit. After 25 years of writing, I kind of think that I should be somewhat more knowledgeable than I used to be. But I'm not.

So I guess the thing I need to figure out is: how do I decide what kind of writing to do, and once I get to that point, how do I go about the process of being the kind of writer I decide to be?

I'm not really depressed now, like I was earlier. Rather, I'm more confused than anything else. I see people around me getting lots of work done and here I am, seemingly unable to get past a particular point.