PDA

View Full Version : Two requests for full ms

SK Kane
02-17-2007, 11:17 PM
I started querying a new novel this week, and I've received two requests for the full manuscript.

Neither agent asked to see the full manuscript exclusively. What is more, neither agent asked me to let them know if other agents are considering the full. Do I need to inform each of these agents that the full is also being considered by someone else? Or should I just go ahead and send it to both with no mention of this?

Toothpaste
02-17-2007, 11:32 PM
Hmm no expert and I am sure one will pipe up soon, but I just wanted to say congrats! That's awesome!

AnnieColleen
02-17-2007, 11:45 PM
From what I've heard*, if they didn't ask, you don't need to mention it.

If it gets to the point of discussing possible representation, that's when you need to start keeping people in the loop.

And, congrats!

*disclaimer: I have no experience in this area, so this is all hearsay.

clara bow
02-18-2007, 12:05 AM
Just send them on, no need to keep the agents appraised of other requests. If they snooze, they lose.

Big congratulations! Keep us posted.

DeadlyAccurate
02-18-2007, 01:48 AM
If one agent makes an offer, let the other know and have a chance to respond (with a deadline) before accepting.

Kristin Nelson just blogged about "getting the call" from an agent.
http://pubrants.blogspot.com/2007/02/agent-calltake-2.html

SK Kane
02-18-2007, 02:43 AM
Thanks. That's what I thought. But I just wanted to make sure.

Kristen King
02-20-2007, 07:56 AM
If they don't ask for an exclusive, it's none of their business if you've sent it out to one agent or one hundred agents. Like DA said, don't worry about it in this type of situation until you get an offer.

kk

Little Red Barn
02-20-2007, 08:09 AM
AWESOME, CONGRATS AND GOOD LUCK! :)

maddythemad
02-20-2007, 08:17 AM
Good luck, SK Kane! Let us know what happens! :D

Moon Daughter
02-22-2007, 08:19 PM