Advice to a Director?

Hillgate

On location
Registered
Reaction score
Anyone care to offer a few words of wisdom to me? I directed a well known two-header a few years ago and I've been asked to direct another two-header, with a strong (but small ie: 2) cast.

I've acted in a lot of plays and know what I like. I also think I can trust the actors. It's a drama and as we're just negotiating the rights I'd rather not say what it is but it's by a Brit.

Any advice, anyone?

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
Sorry, it's not that I'm ignoring you it's just that I have zero experience so I don't have any advice to offer.

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net
Remember to remove the lens cap before you start filming.

Edit: dammit, wrong forum! Forget the lens cap. Remember to open the curtains.

-Derek

ComicBent

Registered
Reaction score
What to do?

It's simple ... You have to know the play extremely well.

What is the play all about?

What does it say that makes putting in on worthwhile?

Once you know these things, you can begin to organize a plan for how to present the play in a manner that will best convey its meaning. In other words, you will figure out how best to put the best face possible on the play.

Think about it this way: You could probably mount a production in several different ways. Which one would be most appealing and most effective in communicating the drama, the comedy, the meaning of the play?

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com