PDA

View Full Version : post-manuscript depression

Leigh Walker
01-31-2007, 08:51 PM
I am a newbie around here, so forgive me if I post this in the wrong place, but I wanted to find out if anyone out there has experienced what I am right now.
I have recently completed the first draft of my first manuscript. (about 100,000 words.) For the first time in my life I have decided to completely dedicate all my time and energy to doing what I have always wanted to do. I finished the draft in a little under a month and during that time I have never been happier.
I finished about three weeks ago, and since then have been feeling what can only be described as low level depression (I was a psychologist before deciding to try writing). Perhaps for those moms out there I can compare it to post partum? (I am not a mom yet, but I imagine it may be what it is like and I do feel a bit like I have given "birth" to my manuscript.)
I am having a hard time getting myself motivated to start the revision process and my partner is as confused as I am as to why I would be feeling so low when I have just accomplished the first steps of my dream.
Anyway, I thought I would ask for some advice from people who know!

Leigh

ChaosTitan
01-31-2007, 10:03 PM
It's not an uncommon feeling, Leigh, especially for first-time novelists. There is a wonderful sense of completion when you write THE END for the first time, and a keen sense of loss now that the first draft is over.

You need to psyche yourself up for the revision process. Many writers hate this part, but it's all part of writing. Look at it as another adventure with your novel (or the Terrible Twos, to do along with your birth metaphor). Revision is a chance to look at your words, to measure them and make them defend their existence.

You said yourself that you have "accomplished the first steps" of your dream. Don't let mild depression cheat you out of taking the next steps.

Hillgate
01-31-2007, 10:12 PM