Status
Not open for further replies.

PastMidnight

Oponionated
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jabrockmole.com
Does anyone know what types of cheese a middle or upper class American in the early 20th century might be familiar with? I've seen mentions of Limburger. What else? I don't know how to research this one, at least not from this side of the pond.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'll throw in Cheddar.

If by early 20th Century you mean up to, say, 1920, then probably an upper-class American would be familiar with most of the cheeses in the world then in production; especially the English, French and Italian varieties.

I would still guess the most common cheeses purchased would be Cheddar, Swiss, and the best-known of the French types. I'm no cheese expert however, so this is a guess.

BottomlessCup

Getting settled
Registered
Reaction score
Cheddar
Swiss
Mozzarella
Blue - (for upper class, make that Stilton, Gorgonzola, etc.)
Gouda
Parmesan
Cottage
maybe Feta

Processed cheese started in 1915. Velveeta in 1928. Both exploded in popularity very quickly.

Puma

Retired and loving it!
Registered
Reaction score
Hi - My Dad's Father had a grocery store in the early (very early) 1900's. They sold wheels of cheese at the store. I'm not sure about exact varieties, but I do know they were yellow cheese (and my Dad loved sharp cheese). So, my guess would be they had a sharp of some kind and a colby-Longhorn type. Dad used to talk about cutting the triangular wedges from the wheels for customers and cutting the mold off from the rind. Hope that helps a bit. Puma

robeiae

Touch and go
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thepondsofhappenstance.com
Cheddar and Leicester (sp?)would probably be the most common types.

Factory-like production of cheeses started in the U.S. in the mid-19th century and accelerated rapidly.

Kraft started making processed cheese near the start of WWI, and that took off like wildfire.