PDA

View Full Version : Peter S. Beagle

Tanatra
01-19-2007, 10:17 AM
I'm sure many of you are familiar with this author. He's nowhere near as obscure as I thought he was.

After seeing the animated adaption of "The Last Unicorn" last month for the first time since ~1990, I bought the book last week. This is something I've NEVER done before as seeing the films first usually ruins reading the book for me. Even though the film is almost verbatim with the book aside from a few things being left out for run time, it's not a purchase I regret making at all. In fact, I'm going to hunt down his short story collection "The Line Between" next week. It contains "Two Hearts" which is the sequel to TLU and recently won the Hugo Award I believe.

As for his writing style itself, TLU has the most extensive (and impressive) use of prose out of anything I've ever read. Stylistic devices are used almost exclusively for descriptions and almost every line of dialogue sticks with you after being read.

This book has actually taught me something about my own writing. Is TLU beautifully written? Absolutely. Does it flow well? Well....in a poetic sense, yes, but not for the purpose of story-telling. All too often I caught myself re-reading sentences and even whole paragraphs multiple times to fully ingest them. Take this excerpt, for instance:

But at night, as some trees hold a living light all day, hold it with the undersides of their leaves until long after sundown - so at night the castle was charged and swarming with darkness, alive with darkness. Then the great hall was cold for a reason; then the small sounds that slept by day woke up to patter and scratch in the corners. It was night when the cold smell of the stones seemed to rise from far below the floor.