PDA

View Full Version : With laptop, at Starbucks, typing furiously with a scowl

Shades of Humanity
01-10-2007, 03:50 AM
You know the type. "Look here! I'm a writer!"

This type is further divided into two categories:

"Oh, what am I doing? I'm writing my newest novel. Have a seat, I'll tell you all about it."

or

"Shhh, I'm much too busy to be bothered. Bzzzzz!" (ala Chris Tucker in the 5th Element)

I understand the need for some gratification, some acknowledgement as writing is an inherently lonely work.

So the other day, as I was at Starbucks/Chapters, (without my laptop, thank you very much!) you can imagine my smile as I flipped through a book called 101 Unconventional Lessons Every Writer Needs to Know and found a chapter entitled: "Skip the Starbucks." According to the author, those that bring their laptops to Starbucks are not writers, but just want others to think they are.

What do you people out there think? I can understand the appeal of wanting to do so, and to some extent the atmosphere of being around people talking can really get you writing. I always carry a pencil and notepad with me, just incase...but bringing a laptop to a Starbucks... pretentious?

KTC
01-10-2007, 03:55 AM
Screw whoever said that. Typing into a laptop at a coffee shop is anything but pretentious. I don't notice anybody or anything when I'm at Starbucks writing. I do it. I don't give a good Goddamn who notices or who doesn't. I'm doing it to write. I'm a writer. I'm a paid writer and I sometimes write at Starbucks...so you can tell that pessimistic ass who wrote the book to sell it to somebody else. End of Rant.

TheIT
01-10-2007, 04:02 AM
I live in Silicon Valley in California. Every coffee shop, bookstore, or library I walk into has people working on laptops. A lot of people seem to be working, some are net surfing, and others might be writers. Who knows?