PDA

View Full Version : How do you usually write your songs?

ModoReese
01-08-2007, 04:23 AM
Since it's kind of quiet in here I thought I'd throw this out. I'm always fascinated by how everyone writes their songs - it's so personal for each of us.

I used to write simply by pen and paper and writing what was in my mind at the time. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. There usually had to be a rhythm to the words, and a tone. I didn't always have a melody, but the rhythm meant I wasn't just writing aimlessly. Since I'm not an advanced musician and have a lousy ear for notes, getting my work onto paper was usually painful.

I switched to writing the music first after I had about 80 songs that were good, but generally abandoned. I simply strummed my guitar, came up with a chord progression I liked and started singing what ever came out. Some of my best songs have been written in that way.

I also use my bass to come up with chord progressions I might miss on the guitar. It's tough to explain, but I hear it differently on the bass - and something that might limit me on the guitar, I can work around on the bass.

As I learn and actually absorb music theory, I find my melodies are working better and are driving the words better. Please don't ask me to explain what that means. All I know is that it takes me a lot longer to write my songs now, but the end result is more complete and usually a better song.

It still doesn't stop me from jotting down a stanza on my napkin during my lunch break though..... ;)

How about everyone else? How do you find your words? Or your music? Do you have one way of working, or do you generally go with whatever strikes you at the time?

Michelle

ajrocks
01-08-2007, 10:11 AM
Bon jovi uses cliche's and a bunch of others do to.
Living on a prayer
She's a little runaway
don't go away mad - Motley Crue
With or without you -
U2

I've tried a few.

I usually use emotions or things going on.