Changing your name?

RJLeahy

Banned
Reaction score
I'm not sure that using a pen name is akin to not taking pride in your work. Was Samuel Clemens trying to avoid credit for Tom Sawyer?

sophisticatedwriter

Registered
Reaction score
Website
just-sophisticated.blogspot.com
Well, I'm a young woman and I write romance so nothing is wrong with that. I agree with RJ. Pride has nothing to do with it. If you mean I should be proud of my name, I am.

:e2shrug:"Sophie Kinsella" became a best-selling author after changing her name. May be it just brought her good luck? I don't know.

William Haskins

poet
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.poisonpen.net
"I was a fresh new journalist, and needed a nom de guerre; so I confiscated the ancient mariner's discarded one, and have done my best to make it remain what it was in his hands-- a sign and symbol and warrant that whatever is found in its company may be gambled on as being the petrified truth; how I have succeeded, it would not be modest in me to say." - Mark Twain, Life on the Mississippi

WildScribe

Slave to the Wordcount
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
There are stories that I have in my head that would horrify my family. Were they published, I would use a nom de plume for sure.

jester

Registered
Reaction score
Dr. Suess had great success with his name too.........

I don't know if he would have been as famous as Dr Theodor, Dr Geisel, or Dr Theodor Suess Giesel.......would it have mattered? I love his books, Dr. Suess is catchy though.

I guess it's up to the individual.

In my case my daughter doesn't want any other name than mine on the book, she's ten and her and her younger sister rule the universe.

Jester

RJLeahy

Banned
Reaction score
jester said:
....In my case my daughter doesn't want any other name than mine on the book, she's ten and her and her younger sister rule the universe.

Jester

Which is, as it should be.

jester

Registered
Reaction score